Inwhich I Beseech Dear Readers to Comment and a Midnight Bathroom Solution

No question about it- ACCESSIBILITY for loft dwellers is an issue! We who sleep in lofts have all been there- three a.m. and you need to pee. No problem if you are on the ground floor, but in a loft it can be tiresome, (perhaps dangerous), to climb back DOWN the ladder and back up it, in a groggy state in the dark. And on days when I have consumed an entire two liter bottle of Dr.Pepper at 12 a.m.? Eye yie yie! Don’t even get me started! I know my bed shakes and scrapes and I just imagine what types of injuries a person would sustain falling out of a loft… No thanks! And of course, people with limited mobility may not be safe going up and down repeatedly, either…

So I had an idea….. And a couple of days ago the subject was alluded to on another blog. What to do about the 3 a.m. run? So I figured it was high time I shared this idea that has been brewing on the back burner of my brain for awhile now.

It would seem to me that a loft urinal would be a great idea. I imagined this collection system as a passive type of system that would involve installing pipes from the loft to feed into whatever type of method of disposal you use below. I do not mean that the  urinal should have a regular flush system pumping water UP into the loft, only that the pipes would take the fluid DOWN and feed into the regular means of egress downstairs.  This loft urinal would ideally have a lid to prevent smells, and also a spray bottle or bucket of water to “chase” with would also keep it from becoming odoriferous.

There would be a few considerations, of course when installing this system, such as the angle of the eave and which side of the tiny your downstairs waste receptacle was located. I would think that if care was taken when installing the “throne” downstairs, one could make sure the upstairs one was positioned in such a way that there would be adequate room to avail oneself of it. For example, place both potties so that there is a vertical wall for use in the loft.  And too, there would also be the aesthetic issue of not wanting everyone who enters your domicile to actually be able to SEE that there is a potty in the loft. For that reason, (as well as the aforementioned odor issue), I would recommend using a device that would camouflage the matter, like an upside down wooden box when not in use.

I would hope, Dear Reader, that no one would be entering your domicile at 3 a.m. to make it necessary to conceal the actual USE of said potty, however, for the faint of heart, or at least the terribly shy, a curtain or movable partition would obscure the act.  I am assuming that those who live in such a tiny structure have made certain to install some way to close up for the night anyway, so that no one could see ANY activity at 3 a.m.

Having said all that, and as delicately as I could muster, with all of my Victorian ways, I come to my second motive for writing this blog today- comments. Only my new friend Drew, (and maybe not even he after this article),  has commented on this blog as of yet, and I do so want to hear from my readers! I have them according to the hits recorded in my Site Stats, so I am making the plea, if you like my blog, let me know! I am an obsessed blogging Momma and I crave interaction between myself and my readers.  If I have not thoroughly offended you by the topic and overuse of paregmenon- I would love to know that I am not blindly sending my words into a cyber-abyss when I press the SAVE button….

Thanks!

© Annie Blair and Tiny House Wisdom. WordPress.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

2 responses to “Inwhich I Beseech Dear Readers to Comment and a Midnight Bathroom Solution

  1. Of course I will comment again. Geez! HAHAHAH

    What you are talking about is one I have also thought about. If I were single I probably would just keep a milk jug in the loft to pee in. But alas, I am not. My wife couldn’t care less about my need to pee. She is concerned about herself. She rarely has to use the restroom during the middle of the night but with a baby across the trailer we will have to get up and down at probably the most inopportune times.

    What we have decided is to give the ladder more of a “captains quarters” feel meaning it will slope a little more gradually and have some sort of handrail to it. This may take up a touch more floor space but it will save us falling down in an effort to tinkle.

    • Haha! Yeah, well, as a 50 year old lady, um, I DO get up a lot. I read on Tiny House Blog the post the other day that mentioned this subject. Since I was already toying with the idea, I figured I would go ahead and write about it. As a matter of fact, I think I will put real stairs in mine, and maybe make them a tad steeper and less wide- and put my “water closet” underneath…

Leave a Reply

