Accessorize Your Tiny: a “Dumbwaiter” and an Inexpensive Versatile Light

I currently have a loft bed in the small house in which I live. As stated before on this blog, I spend quite a lot of my time in my cozy loft. I have noticed, incidentally, that I use a lot less energy to heat said loft. This 40’s cottage with its minimal insulation is somewhat expensive, (inch for inch), to heat and cool. I have had very little heating costs this year as a surprising bonus of spending my time three feet from the ceiling. Of course, the fact that my room faces south helps to glean this passive solar energy, the configuration with my bed only serves to use it effectively.

The fact that I spend mucho time in my loft has its own drawbacks, as the surface of the bed quickly becomes littered with various items that I have not taken the time to remove, plates, glasses, teacups, papers and so on. I struck on the idea, (only partly implemented at this time), of a dumbwaiter for the tiny house.

A dumbwaiter in Victorian days was a separate chute, quite similar to a laundry chute in homes today. Meals were prepared in the kitchen below and a system of pullies raised the food and implements to the dining area on another floor. Many a child took a ride in these contraptions. In this version I would put mine at the edge of the loft opposite the ladder and on the same side as the kitchen. It would be a square, (of course you can repurpose a round top if you wish, but it won’t fit next to the counter below), and one could arrange the kitchen to accommodate the edge to fit nicely against the counter. This way you can raise your snack, (did I mention I eat in my loft?), and lower empties and stuff when finished with them. Alternately, this dumbwaiter could be lowered when there was company and used for additional table space. You could even use it as a desk on the lower level when not in use for the loft.

On another note, I use a utility light for modern versatile lighting. It can be found here: http://www.amazon.com/Designers-Edge-Incandescent-Clamp-6-Foot/dp/B00076Q0FQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326035140&sr=8-1

This lamp moves about and is held in place by a clamp. I love this because it is versatile and love anything shiny and low cost. Remember design-wise, anything shiny helps to create a look of spaciousness in square foot challenged spaces.  A well placed electrical outlet in your tiny would make it possible to use this on the ground floor or the loft without ever unplugging it. Another thing I have noticed in my personal loft is that the lighting puts out a good amount of heat itself and becomes a source of heating when it gets cold.

© Annie Blair and Tiny House Wisdom. WordPress.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

6 responses to “Accessorize Your Tiny: a “Dumbwaiter” and an Inexpensive Versatile Light

  1. Terrific work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my web site . Thanks =)

  2. Thank you for another informative blog. Where else could I get that type of information written in such a perfect way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

    • Yes, as I sit in my current loft in my current small house, I was wishing last night that I had the dumbwaiter already. I kind of see it now as a wooden crate with a pully.

      BTW- never laugh at dreamers.

      Thank you
      THW

Leave a Reply

