Tiny House Myth #1- I Cannot Do Tiny Because I Have Kids

On my weekly looong trek to the bank sans vehicle, as I am these days, a bit of the old light bulb came on over my head. Many times I have read something to the effect of, “Of course tiny houses are for singles and close couples,  as families with children would not be able to use them.” Heck, I have even stated this myself on this humble blog!

When said light bulb came on over my head, two things also occurred to me. First I said to myself, “Wow, I have never seen a halogen light bulb over my head before!,” and two, “Why the heck NOT?”

Yep, that is what I said all right, right before the IDEA hit me. OF COURSE YOU CAN- YOU JUST HAVE TO THINK OUTSIDE THE “BOX”!

You see the problem is Dear Reader, we are thinking like STICK BUILT people! We are thinking SQUARE FOOTAGE thoughts and trying to convert them to the new language of TINY. If you ask anyone they will tell you, when you learn a new language you have to think in that language!

So for your consideration, I present to you, The Pod People Concept.

The Pod People do not think about housing as a static situation, but a flowing one that changes with needs to be addressed and then reevaluated as the players age, move or needs change.  So just how would say, a family of four live as Pod People and have a Tiny on Wheels?

Lets start with the “main” tiny house, say 120 square feet. This one has two lofts, like the Slabtown Creations AnneMarie with a loft over the front porch. When the children are really tiny, they need to stay on the first floor, say on a fold out in the main “living” room that converts at night. That is after they have had a crib. Until the child moves around a lot, a cradle is convenient in a loft house. Of course the house should be child proofed and maybe a ladder that pulls completely into the loft would prevent falls from a climbing toddler.  Once the child can be safe to do so, a second tiny house is moved next to the original one. While the main home has a kitchen and full bath, the second may have only a bathroom and the future kitchen area may have desks for study and shelves for extra storage of toys and books. The second tiny could even be made to attach at a side door so the parent is as close, (no a LOT closer), than a regular house.

There is lots of room for the second tiny to become a bedroom with two lofts, and playroom and have a second bath- a luxury many larger houses enjoy. During these years of growing up, these tinies could be altered as needed to accommodate the current desires of the family. Then, when the kids are grown, this tiny house can go with the kids to college and even into beginning a career or family for themselves! A new take on empty nest. Dad pulls up stakes and takes kiddos to college in their own home! Talk about money saving convenience! I know there are considerations that would need addressed, but we are just thinking outside the box here. It is doable!

Then the family is aging. Again needs have changed, kids gone and there needs to be a caregiver for Dad, or Mom gets a job caring for another at their home. Enter the new caregiver cottage, or change it around and Dad stays in the back yard of one of the kids!

You see, the possibilities are endless if you think in POD, instead of PED, (ped- as in FEET- you know…. oh never mind).

© Annie Blair and Tiny House Wisdom. WordPress.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

7 responses to “Tiny House Myth #1- I Cannot Do Tiny Because I Have Kids

  1. Excellent point!

    We are thinking SQUARE FOOTAGE thoughts and trying to convert them to the new language of TINY.

    My wife and I are living in a small house now (245 sq. ft) whilst building our tiny house trailer (280 sq. ft). Oh, did I mention we have a nearly 4 month old? So how do we do this? Exactly as you described. We build and live for now…not 20 years down the road. Our notion is that a house should grow with the needs of the family. Our tiny house trailer has been designed with a small “bedroom” in the front and a queen size sleeping loft. As our daughter gets older we intend on building a hallway off the trailer into a slab foundation “master bedroom” that will probably be about 10′ x 12′. To prepare for this a portion of the trailer wall (where the hallway would go) has been framed up for an entry/exit. When the time comes, we just cut the exterior wall, remove the insulation, and add on.

    • “We build and live for now…not 20 years down the road.” See that is wisdom. I also kind of liked the idea of unhooking the second tiny when the kids go to college and taking them off for a kind instant “dorm room.”

  2. I’m usually to blogging and i actually admire your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for brand new information.

  3. really inspiring and creative thinking in the way you use your words. I wish someday my writing expertise could be on the same level as yours.

  4. That is the fitting blog for anyone who wants to search out out about this topic. You understand so much its nearly hard to argue with you (not that I truly would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

